Serendipity always lends a hand and for Abigail Skunk there was certainly serendipity.

First there was a newspaper item saying the skunk population in our neighbourhood was exploding. Next there was an article about how schools were fostering good manners in children. Next, my granddaughter’s car was sprayed by a black and white (skunk). Then my aunt told me about a skunk who entered the house, walked all around on a little tour touching nothing, eating nothing, inflicting no damage. And then, curiosity satisfied, left as politely as it entered.

But then in September 2010, the school requested that if possible could the parents donate a children’s book to their school library on the occasion of their child’s birthday during the school year. A copy of their curriculum indicated that manners were to be covered.

Two plus two equals “click”! went my brain and I suggested that we produce our own book. By October, skunks were researched and by November the story was written. There followed editing, polishing, test runs, storyboards and Christmas.

Finally, publishing the book.

But, we did it! And I actually read it to the class!

Imagine that!

Meg

